winning team!

   The annual Northwestern Regional Library Quiz Bowl was held March 9th at 9:30 am at the Andy Griffith Playhouse in Mount Airy.  This is a make-up date from January 19th when we had to cancel the event due to inclement weather. 

   Out of the eight competing teams only one could be the winner.  The winning team was Surry Central High School, for a second year in a row, and the runner up was Surry Early College team.  The final score was 155 to 75.


Brack Llewellyn was moderator.  The judges were Homer Dearmin, Beth Lyon-Smith, and Wayne Matthews.  Mount Airy Commissioner Shirley Brinkley gave the welcome.


   The Surry Central High School team was sponsored by Angie Graham and Tim Shelton.  The members of the team were:  Scott Bowman, Elliott Draughn, Alex Fowler, Megan Gillespie, Chase Graham, Stacey Hamlin, Heather Key, Chandler Musson, and Selena Ruvio.


   A special thank you goes out to Ken White and the Andy Griffith Playhouse as well as the Friends of the Jonesville Public Library, the Mount Airy Public Library and the Walnut Cove Public Library.


   Quiz Bowl was sponsored by the thirteen libraries of the Northwestern Regional Library in Alleghany, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin Counties as well as the Elkin Friends of the Library and Mount Airy Friends of the Library.